Waimakariri Passchendaele Advisory Group

Passchendaele Trust logo

Formerly known as the Waimakariri Passchendaele Trust, the Council approved the establishment of the Waimakariri Passchendaele Advisory Group in December 2018. The aim of the Waimakariri Passchendaele Advisory Group is to provide strategic oversight and advice on the District’s international relations and cultural links with the Municipality of Zonnebeke, Belgium, and support the District’s ongoing commemoration and remembrance of the Battle of Passchendaele 1917 and World War 1 in general.

Current members of the Advisory Group are:

  • Chair - Deputy Mayor of Waimakariri District Council, Neville Atkinson
  • Mayor of Waimakariri District Council, Dan Gordon
  • Honorary Belgian Consul of Christchurch – Lieve Bierque
  • Rangiora RSA representative – Ian Thompson
  • Kaiapoi RSA representative – Neill Price
  • Dave Adamson (community representative)

The Advisory Group membership can include up to four community representatives (appointed by the Council on the nomination of the Advisory Group).

Meetings of the Advisory Group are held as required and members of the public are welcome to contact the Advisory Group through the Council office by contacting the Governance Advisor on 0800 965 468

Go to the Memorial Museum Passchendaele 1917 website.