Senior management team

Any of our senior management team can be contacted at our Rangiora service centre - phone 0800 965 468 (0800WMK GOV) or toll-free from Christchurch on 03 327 6834.

Chief Executive - Jim Harland

Email: jim.harland@wmk.govt.nz

Manager, Community and Recreation - Chris Brown

Email: chris.brown@wmk.govt.nz

Responsibilities:

  • Aquatic facilities
  • Libraries
  • Airfield
  • Parks and playgrounds
  • Sportsgrounds
  • Community halls
  • Public toilets
  • Community Team

Manager, Planning & Regulation - Tracy Tierney

Email: tracy.tierney@wmk.govt.nz

Responsibilities:

  • Building services
  • District Plan implementation
  • Environmental services - animal control, health, liquor licensing, parking
  • Emergency management and civil defence
  • Development planning

Manager, Utilities and Roading - Gerard Cleary

Email: gerard.cleary@wmk.govt.nz

Responsibilities:

  • Water services - water supply, stormwater, wastewater, drainage
  • Roading
  • Project delivery
  • Solid waste - rubbish collection and recycling
  • Transfer stations

Manager, Strategic Projects - Simon Markham

Email: simon.markham@wmk.govt.nz

Responsibilities:

  • Business and Centres
  • Policy and strategy

Manager, Finance and Business Support - Jeff Millward

Email: jeff.millward@wmk.govt.nz

Responsibilities:

  • Governance
  • Finance
  • Information and technology
  • Water Unit - faults and repairs, water testing
  • Customer services

Manager, People & Engagement - Liz Smith

Email: liz.smith@wmk.govt.nz

  • Communications and engagement
  • Council property
  • Organisational Development & Design
  • Human resources
  • Health & Safety