Senior management team

Any of our senior management team can be contacted at our Rangiora service centre - phone 03 311 8900 or toll-free from Christchurch on 03 327 6834.

Chief Executive - Jim Palmer

Email: jim.palmer@wmk.govt.nz

Manager, Community and Recreation - Craig Sargison

Email: craig.sargison@wmk.govt.nz

Responsibilities:

  • Aquatic facilities
  • Libraries
  • Airfield
  • Parks and playgrounds
  • Sportsgrounds
  • Community halls
  • Public toilets
  • Community Team

Manager, Regulation - Nick Harrison

Email: nick.harrison@wmk.govt.nz

Responsibilities:

  • Building services
  • District Plan implementation
  • Environmental services - animal control, health, liquor licensing, parking
  • Emergency management and civil defence

Manager, Utilities and Roading - Gerard Cleary

Email: gerard.cleary@wmk.govt.nz

Responsibilities:

  • Water services - water supply, stormwater, wastewater, drainage
  • Roading
  • Project delivery
  • Solid waste - rubbish collection and recycling
  • Transfer stations

Manager, Strategy and Engagement - Simon Markham

Email: simon.markham@wmk.govt.nz

Responsibilities:

  • Communications and engagement
  • Customer services
  • Business development
  • Development planning
  • Policy and strategy

Manager, Finance and Business Support - Jeff Millward

Email: jeff.millward@wmk.govt.nz

Responsibilities:

  • Governance
  • Finance
  • Information and technology
  • Council property
  • Water Unit - faults and repairs, water testing

Manager, Organisational Development & Human Resources - Liz Ashton

Email: sarah.illingworth@wmk.govt.nz

  • Organisational Development & Design
  • Attraction, Recruitment & Retention
  • Employment Contracts & Compliance
  • Employment Relations
  • Performance Management
  • HR Systems, Policies & Process
  • Learning & Development
  • Reward & Recognition
  • Culture & Staff Engagement
  • Health & Safety