The Community is in Safe Hands

The Waimakariri District Council’s Community Team were delighted at the 10th Annual New Zealand Safe Communities Forum to have received an award, which acknowledged ‘outstanding leadership and support for Safe Communities at a national level.’

This was presented to Tessa Sturley, Community Team Manager and also reflects the outstanding work of the Community Safety Team over the past nine years.   This was the “Carolyn Coggan Safe Community Award” in honour of Dr Carolyn Coggan, founding director of the Safe Community Foundation, who sadly passed away some three years ago. Community Safety Team

This annual forum focussed on connecting communities, improving evidence based practice, and the Waimakariri Council’s Community Team enjoyed sharing their knowledge and experience with representatives from all over New Zealand as well as colleagues from Australia. 

Waimakariri District has been an accredited Safe Community since 1999 and was the second district awarded this status in New Zealand.