New Chairperson for Woodend-Sefton

The Woodend-Sefton Community Board has a new chairperson after Shona Powell was elected to the position at last night’s meeting.

Shona PowellPowell replaces Cr John Meyer, who remains a member of the Board.

Andrew Thompson retains his position as deputy-chairperson, having taken up that role prior to Christmas.

Voting in the by-election for the vacant position on the board closes on Friday, with special voting facilities available at the council’s Rangiora Service Centre. Six candidates are vying for the final seat around the board table. The deadline for votes to be cast is 12 pm on Friday.

The vacancy on the board was created by the resignation and subsequent sad passing of the late Karen Eastwood.