Waimakariri community recognised at annual awards

The  Community Service Awards were announced at a special functions held at Ruataniwha Kaiapoi Civic Centre on Monday night where 13 people were awarded for their contributions to the community. There will be a further round of awards announced at a ceremony at the Rangiora Town Hall on Tuesday 30 August 2016.

The popular awards provide residents of the district with an opportunity to recognise voluntary service from their peers in the fields of the arts, culture, education, health, welfare, sport, recreation or youth development.

Waimakariri District Mayor David Ayers is delighted at the amount of nominations this year for such well-deserving recipients of the awards.

“This a great way for us to say thank you to those residents who give up substantial amounts of their time to run societies, organise working bees and fundraisers or help out more vulnerable members of our community amongst other things,” says Mr Ayers.

“A lot of this work is done behind the scenes so it’s important to publically acknowledge their dedication. People living in our district certainly go the extra mile to contribute to their communities.”

The award recipients from Monday’s awards ceremony follows below.

Trish Allen - Trish Allen received her award for “going the extra mile” for the Oxford community. Trish has been a volunteer on many committees over the years and is currently the Treasurer for the Budget Boutique, a founding member of the Oxford Health and Fitness Foundation and a part of the Oxford Night Patrol.

Helen Dunn - Helen Dunn has been recognised for being an integral member of the Oxford Cancer Support Group. A former nurse, Helen helps care for cancer sufferers in the area as well as coordinating transport for those needing to travel to Christchurch and fundraising for the Canterbury Cancer Society.

Noelene Francis - Noelene Francis has been awarded for her passion for enhancing and beautifying the district’s reserves. Her most recent project is working on the Silverstream Reserve where she has organised funding for planting as well as a large number of working bees and she herself volunteers there several days a week.

Ann Harper - Ann Harper has received her award for her contribution to the Hinemoa Hockey Club. Ann has been a stalwart of the club and has been the President, Secretary, Club Captain and Manager for the club at various times over her 45 year involvement with the club.

Ray Harper - Ray Harper has been awarded for his contribution to the community as an esteemed Piper in the McAlpines North Canterbury Pipe Band. Ray has been the Band’s president since 2001 and he has also volunteered to pipe at many weddings and funerals across the district.

Shona Kidd - Shona Kidd has been honoured for her tireless commitment to the Oxford’s elderly residents. For the past forty years on top of her other volunteering, Shona has been transporting those in need to appointments in Rangiora and Christchurch as well as taking residents for pleasure trips and shopping excursions.

Maureen Lindsay - Maureen Lindsay has received her award for her service to Kaiapoi in a variety of capacities in the area. In particular, Maureen is well-known for her work as the treasurer for the Kaiapoi RSA, her volunteering on the Tuhoe before it was lost and for delivering meals on wheels around Kaiapoi for the past 28 years.

James Morton - James (Jamie) Morton has been awarded for his dedicated service to Kaiapoi RSA. James’ main role is to look after veterans and ex-service personnel, maintaining contact and helping out when required. He also runs Kaiapoi’s ANZAC Day dawn services every year.

Jane Sinclair - Jane Sinclair has been honoured for her dedication to the Kaiapoi Toy Library. Jane has been the President for the past seven years and has worked immensely hard to keep the library open in the face of adversity since the earthquakes, working tirelessly to find new locations and keep it staffed.

Tim Stephenson – Tim Stephenson has been awarded for his services to the community of The Pines and Kairaki Beaches. Tim has been a voice for his community, particularly in terms of the red zone regeneration, the rebuild of The Pines Beach Community Hall and the review of the Northern Pegasus Bay Bylaw.

Robyn Wallace - Robyn Wallace has received an award in recognition of her work as Chair of the Kaiapoi Community Board as well as a representative on The Pines and Kairaki Beaches Association. In particular, she has worked to strengthen ties between Kaiapoi and Tuahiwi and has helped drive projects such as the new whare, Mahaahunui II, at the Tuahiwi Marae.

Dean Ward-Leonidas - Dean Ward-Leonidas has been recognised for his services to the Cust/West Eyreton Garden Club. Under his presidency, the club has doubled in size and Dean has spent many hours planning and preparing an interesting annual programme for the Garden Club. Dean is also a keen volunteer at the Oxford Art Gallery.

Kate Wilkinson - Kate Wilkinson is receiving her award in recognition of her work for the district as Waimakariri’s previous Member of Parliament. Kate was instrumental in progressing some important projects for the district such as the Rangiora Health Hub, variable speed signs outside Swannanoa School and various earthquake recovery projects.

There are three more recipients that are yet to receive their awards. Sue Kilmarton, Robin Brown and Ken Broadfoot. These awards will be presented at a time suitable to the recipient.

Contact: Louise Courtney

Phone: 03 311 8900