Four new faces on next council

There will be four new faces around the Waimakariri District Council table when the new term begins as a result of the 2016 elections

While final results are not expected to be confirmed until later in the week, Paul Williams (Rangiora-Ashley ward), Dan Gordon (Rangiora-Ashley), Al Blackie and Sandra Stewart (both Kaiapoi-Woodend ward) have all been successful in their bids to join council.

In the case of Gordon and Stewart, they are returning to the fold, having both previously served the District as councillors.

Blackie served on the old Kaiapoi Borough Council and has been a community board member in more recent times.

Six councillors have been returned from the last term, with Deputy Mayor Kevin Felstead and Wendy Doody prevailing in the Oxford-Ohoka ward, while Peter Allen and Robbie Brine return representing Rangiora-Ashley.

There are also two returnees in Kaiapoi-Woodend, with the sitting councillors Neville Atkinson and John Meyer topping the polling for the ward.

The changes in the council make-up were not reflected in the Mayoralty, with incumbent David Ayers returned emphatically after polling in excess of 12,500 votes in the two-way run-off with challenger Natalie Leary.

Voting was strong among the community board positions, with Chris Greengrass, Jackie Watson, Roger Blair, Philip Redmond and Martin Pinkham elected from the 11 candidates for the Kaiapoi-Tuahiwi Board.

Shirley Farrell, Thomas Robson and Mark Brown secured their own piece of history by becoming the first elected members of the new Oxford-Ohoka Community Board.

There were 10 candidates for the five places representing the Rangiora sub-division of the Rangiora-Ashley community board.

The successful contenders were led by retiring councillor Jim Gerard, who continues his long history of community service from the board.

He is joined by Murray Clarke, Keith Galloway, Judith Hoult and Sarah Lewis while Duncan Lundy, Chris Prickett and Greg Miller were appointed to the District’s biggest board representing the Ashley sub-division.

The voter count for this year’s election was a healthy 39.34 percent.