Council leads the way for Canterbury in local government excellence programme

The Waimakariri District Council is the only Canterbury Council to participate as a foundation member of the local government New Zealand standards programme.

Twenty-one councils from across the country have been admitted to the programme, with Waimakariri one of just three to represent the South Island, alongside the Nelson City and Queenstown Lakes District Councils.

Mayor David Ayers says Waimakariri’s participation in the programme reflects the Council’s desire to continue to grow the value it offers to both the community, and the wider local government landscape as a whole.

“While our involvement in the programme hasn’t altered our commitment to excellence in service of our community, it does reflect our determination to be a leader amongst the local government community,” Mr Ayers said.

“The fact that we are one of just three Councils from the South Island to be included, and the only Canterbury Council involved, is something the Waimakariri community can be proud of.

Mr Ayers said the project was a great initiative and promised to drive even higher standards of service across the entire local government fraternity.

“The programme is designed to provide a measure of council performance, one that is visible to the public and reflects a proactive approach from councils towards transparency and accountability.”

The local government standards system will demonstrate and improve the value and services of councils by measuring qualitative and quantitative indicators across leadership, finance, service delivery and community engagement.

Local Government New Zealand has selected the Foundation Councils to lead out the programme this year. Results will be published early in 2017.

Through the programme participating councils will be assessed every three years, given a standard from A to C, and the results publicised. Councils will discuss results with communities and use the assessments to plan improvements.

LGNZ President Lawrence Yule said the system was being set up to give communities a clear and independent picture of how well their council was performing in serving the community.

“This will provide for communities a thorough and trusted standard for council performance. They will now know that their council meets an A, B, or C standard,” he said.

“For councils this will help them improve to deliver top value for communities. They will now know how they perform in dozens of services, and where the community wants improvement.”

The excellence programme been developed in response to the 2015 New Zealand Local Government Survey, which showed there is an opportunity to lift and demonstrate the service and value councils deliver to their communities.

The 21 councils involved in the programme are:

  • Far North District Council
  • Gisborne District Council
  • Greater Wellington Regional Council
  • Hastings District Council
  • Horowhenua District Council
  • Masterton District Council
  • Matamata-Piako District Council
  • Napier City Council
  • Nelson City Council
  • Porirua City Council
  • Queenstown Lakes District Council
  • Rangitikei District Council
  • Ruapehu District Council
  • South Taranaki District Council
  • South Waikato District Council
  • Taupo District Council
  • Upper Hutt City Council
  • Waikato Regional Council
  • Waimakariri District Council
  • Wairoa District Council
  • Whakatane District Council