IN THE MATTER of

the Resource Management Act 1991

AND

IN THE MATTER of

hearing of submissions and further submissions on the Proposed Waimakariri District Plan

AND

of hearing of submissions and further submissions on Variations 1 and 2 to the Proposed Waimakariri District Plan

MINUTE 15 – REQUEST TO MOVE INZ HEARING

PURPOSE

- (1) The purpose of this Minute is to respond to the Council memorandum (Council memo) received on 1 December 2023, seeking to move the timing of hearing of submissions on the Industrial Zone in Hearing Stream 9 to immediately after Hearing Stream 8. Hearing stream 8 is scheduled to commence on 17 April 2024. A copy of the Council Memo is available on the Council website.
- (2) In summary, the Council is seeking to move the hearing date, as the reporting officer has not been able to complete the section 42A report for the Industrial zone submissions. The Council does not believe any submitters will be significantly prejudiced by the change in date.
- (3) The Independent Hearings Panel has considered this request and accepts the timing change for hearing of submissions on the Industrial Zone chapter. While we appreciate there may be a few submitters inconvenienced, we agree that changing the date is preferable to all parties than receiving an incomplete section 42A report. Accordingly, we have updated the timetable in Minute 1 and issued a new Version 8. The Industrial Zone hearing will now fall into Hearing Stream 9A, commencing on approximately 17 April 2024.

(4) For all parties' ease, the revised timetable is set out below.

Stream	Abbrevs	Topics and chapters	Hearing Panel Members	Indicative Hearing Dates
Stream 9	CMUZ NCZ LCZ LFRZ MUZ TCZ	Commercial	Gina Sweetman (Chair) Gary Rae Allan Cubitt Cr Atkinson	Commences 29 January 2024
Stream 10	SPZ- KR	Special Purpose Zones (Kaiapoi Regeneration)	Gina Sweetman (Chair) Allan Cubitt Gary Rae Megen McKay Cr Atkinson	19 February 2024 (on one day only)
	PBKR	Pines Beach and Kairaki Regeneration	Cr Mealings	
	PR	Pegasus Resort		
	MCC	Museum and conference		
	HOS	Hospital		
Stream 10A	FUDA	Future Development Areas	Gina Sweetman (Chair) Gary Rae Allan Cubitt	Commences 19 February 2024

	Airport	Noise Contour, Bird Strike and Growth policies	Megen McKay	
Stream 7	RESZ	Residential (including rezoning where technical evidence is unlikely) Large Lot Residential Variation 1	Gina Sweetman (Chair) Allan Cubitt Gary Rae Megen McKay	Commences 18 March 2024
		Housing Intensification Variation 2 Financial Contributions		
Stream 11	ECO TEMP	KRH — KiwiRail Holdings Ltd MEDU - Minister of Education MPNZ - Mainpower New Zealand Ltd MPOL - Minister of Police / NZ Police NZTA — Waka Kotahi NZ Transport Agency WDC — Waimakariri District Council Ecosystems and Indigenous Biodiversity Temporary Activities	Gina Sweetman (Chair) Allan Cubitt Cr Atkinson Cr Mealings Gary Rae Megen McKay	Commences 15 April 2024
Stream 8	SUB	Subdivision (Rural and Residential)	Gina Sweetman (Chair) Gary Rae Allan Cubitt Megen McKay	Commences approx. 17 April 2024, after HS11
Stream 9A	INZ LIZ GIZ HIZ	Industrial Zones	Gina Sweetman (Chair) Gary Rae Allan Cubitt Megen McKay	Commences approx. 17 April 2024, after HS11
Stream 12	MAPS	Rezoning requests (larger scale)	Gina Sweetman (Chair) Gary Rae Allan Cubitt	Commences approx. 27 May 2024

	Megen McKay	
	wiegen wickay	

CORRESPONDENCE

(5) Submitters and other hearing participants must not attempt to correspond with or contact the Hearings Panel members directly. All correspondence relating to the hearing must be addressed to the Hearings Administrator, Audrey Benbrook, on 0800 965 468 or audrey.benbrook@wmk.govt.nz.



Gina Sweetman

Independent Commissioner – Chair - on behalf of the Independent Hearings Panel members

4 December 2023