

Waimakariri District Council

2022 Triennial Elections

DECLARATION OF RESULT

The final result for the Waimakariri District Council elections held on Saturday 8th October is as follows.

Mayor		Votes Received
GORDON, Dan		18,094
STAPYLTON-SMITH, Miles		2,607
INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS		5 519
Dan GORDON is declared elected.		
Oxford-Ohoka Ward (2 vacancies)		Votes Received
MEALINGS, Niki FULTON, Tim		2,291 1,686
	Democracy & Equality	

Tim FULTON and Niki MEALINGS are declared elected.

Rangiora-Ashley Ward (4 vacancies)		Votes Received
WARD, Joan WILLIAMS, Paul BRINE, Robbie GOLDSWORTHY, Jason		5,341 4,884 3,867 2,945
LINTON, Wayne WATERFIELD, Stephanie HARNETT, David MALCOLM, Gordon NISTALA, Padi WILKINSON, Steve FISHER, Sam	Independent Time to get it done Focused on our Families New Energy. Fresh Ideas A Voice for the Business Community Independent	2,674 2,313 2,137 2,031 2,006 1,944 1,289
INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS		34 275

Robbie BRINE, Jason GOLDSWORTHY, Joan WARD and Paul WILLIAMS are declared elected.

Kaiapoi-Woodend Ward (4 vacancies)

Votes Received

REDMOND, Philip ATKINSON, Neville BLACKIE, Al CAIRNS, Brent	Independent Together We Can Achieve Community Comes First	3,859 3,444 3,388 2,549
POWELL, Shona STEWART, Sandra MCLACHLAN, Joel	Expect More	2,277 2,215 1,611
BARTLE, Tim BELL, Stephen	Independent	1,425 1,232
SHAW, Phil KEETLEY, Russell	Independent	1,216 1,095
PAYNE, Vicki LEARY, Natalie	Uniting the community	1,078 867
INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS		34 215

Neville ATKINSON, AI BLACKIE, Brent CAIRNS and Philip REDMOND are declared elected.

Woodend-Sefton Community Board (5 vacancies)		Votes Received
POWELL, Shona THOMPSON, Andrew MATHER, Rhonda PATERSON, Mark FONG, Ian	Standing For You	1,752 1,694 1,554 1,474 945
PAYNE, Vicki POTTER, Mathew CLARK, Rachel QUINN, Liam MCMILLAN, Steve	Uniting the community Independent	779 719 633 547 357
INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS		0 136

Ian FONG, Rhonda MATHER, Mark PATERSON, Shona POWELL and Andrew THOMPSON are declared elected.

Kaiapoi-Tuahiwi Community Board (5 vacancies)		Votes Received
* BLACKIE, AI (Withdrawn)		2,805
WATSON, Jackie		2,498
STEWART, Sandra		2,152
BARTLE, Tim	Independent	1,633
KEETLEY, Russell		1,532
BLAIR, Tracey		1,470
LOVELACE, Aaron	Independent	1,259
LEE, John		1,183
DEAR, Shayne	Your community voice	1,037
MORRISON, Janet		966
VAN DER LINDE, Hannelie		916
LEARY, Natalie		874
SMITH, George		498
INFORMAL		5
BLANK VOTING PAPERS		162

(*Section 88A of the Local Electoral Act provides that if a person is declared to be elected as a member of the council, and that person is also declared to be elected as a member of a community board, that person must be treated as having vacated office as a member of the community board.)

Tim BARTLE, Tracey BLAIR, Russell KEETLEY, Sandra STEWART and Jackie WATSON are declared elected.

Oxford Community Subdivision (3 vacancies)	Votes Received
ROBSON, Thomas * FULTON, Tim (Withdrawn) BROWN, Mark MERRIFIELD, Pete	1,433 1,263 1,128 469
INFORMAL	1
BLANK VOTING PAPERS	90

(*Section 88A of the Local Electoral Act provides that if a person is declared to be elected as a member of the council, and that person is also declared to be elected as a member of a community board, that person must be treated as having vacated office as a member of the community board.)

Mark BROWN, Pete MERRIFIELD and Thomas ROBSON are declared elected.

Ashley Community Subdivision (2 vacancies)		Votes Received	
CAMPBELL, Ivan BARNETT, Kirstyn	Independent	1,130 1,094	
LUNDY, Duncan ALDERSLEY, Steve PORTER, Guy	Independent	1,054 707 345	
INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS		1 147	

Votes Received

Kirstyn BARNETT and Ivan CAMPBELL are declared elected.

Rangiora Community Subdivision (6 vacancies)
----------------------------------	--------------

GERARD, Jim * WILLIAMS, Paul (Withdrawn) * BRINE, Robbie (Withdrawn) MCLAREN, Bruce MCCLURE, Liz * GOLDSWORTHY, Jason (Withdrawn) FLEMING, Monique CLARKE, Murray WILKINSON, Steve	A Voice for the Business Community	4,085 3,651 3,108 2,925 2,821 2,771 2,325 2,250 2,064
WILKINSON, Sleve	A Voice for the Business Community	2,064
HARRIS, Morris		1,617
MULLINS, Eve HARRIS, Grant	Independent	1,504 1,497
BISSET, Kelly	Independent	1,339
INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS		11 231
		201

(*Section 88A of the Local Electoral Act provides that if a person is declared to be elected as a member of the council, and that person is also declared to be elected as a member of a community board, that person must be treated as having vacated office as a member of the community board.)

Murray CLARKE, Monique FLEMING, Jim GERARD, Liz MCCLURE, Bruce MCLAREN and Steve WILKINSON are declared elected.

Ohoka-Swannanoa Community Subdivision (3 vacancies)

Votes Received

HARPUR, Ray	1,471
WILSON, Michelle	1,244
BARKLE, Sarah	1,218
TAPP, Julie	621
ALLEN, Jarrad	555
INFORMAL	0
BLANK VOTING PAPERS	137

Sarah BARKLE, Ray HARPUR and Michelle WILSON are declared elected.

The voter return was 44.6%, being 20,993 votes, excluding special votes.

Anthony Morton Electoral Officer Waimakariri District Council 13 October 2022