Fires - rural & urban

Total Fire Ban Cancelled, Restricted Fire Season in Place from Midnight Wednesday 15 March

Published: 14-March-2017

Notice is hereby given that the previously advertised Total Fire Ban, which extended over the whole of the Waimakariri District Council Rural Fire Authority’s jurisdictional area, is lifted from midnight, Wednesday 15 March 2017. A Restricted Fire Season is now in place. Fire Permits are required for fires in the open air.

Learn more...

Urban areas

The urban areas of the district are administered by the New Zealand Fire Service under the Fire Service Act 1975.

Air quality in residential zones comes under the jurisdiction of Environment Canterbury and they have strict restrictions on the lighting of outdoor fires in urban areas.

Rural areas

The rural areas of the district are covered by the Forest and Rural Fires Act 1977 and the Forest and Rural Fires Regulations 2005. Three fire authorities have jurisdiction over various rural areas of the district. These are:

  • Ashley Rural Fire Committee which administers the Ashley Rural Fire District
  • Department of Conservation (DOC) which is the fire authority for all DOC estate plus a one kilometre wide safety margin around DOC estate
  • Waimakariri District Council Rural Fire Authority which is responsible for those rural parts of the district not covered by the other two rural fire authorities.


Year-round fire restrictions are in force within one kilometre of a Department of Conservation Estate and Forest Areas and permits are required all year round.

Permits for the Ashley Rural Fire District are required all year round from the Ashley Rural Fire Committee.

Refer to the Rural fire page for information on the fire seasons for the rural areas covered by the Waimakariri District Council Fire Authority and when permits are required.